As our sun slides a bit lower along the horizon and our plentiful bounty seems on the slump, it’s time to hold strong to the last vestiges of warmth and keep the summer flavors rolling.

The most nostalgic scents of summer for me will always remain the smell of freshly cut grass and the mouth-watering flavors of a ripe peach, but the sweet charred scent  of a hot grill is definitely in the running. Since I made kimchi last week, I think a small Korean-style barbecue is in order, and a few things in the box next week will support me, though I may have to stray from traditional styles in my culinary ways.

Here’s what I have coming in my order with a few subs, meal ideas and a small amount of Green Grocery orders – not too big to bust the bank, but just enough to keep the tastes of summer alive for one more week!

  • Red leaf lettuce – used as burrito wrapping for our Korean-style grilled meats (cut to perfection by Bob’s Meats in Columbia City), with bean paste and kimchi, along with a healthy bowl of short grain rice, and a few sliced jalapenos.
  • Baby chiogga beets – one of my favorite things to do with these is to poach them in white wine and sugar along with some pears,  and fresh lavender for a light and delicious topping for ice cream.
  • Green kale – steamed wild rice, cooled and mixed with blanched and salted kale, cherry tomatoes, red onions and green bell peppers in a light lemon-olive oil vinaigrette.
  • Celery – A favorite around my house just as a snack, dipped in peanut butter and used to make stocks, soups and salads.
  • Cilantro – from tacos to salads – maybe in the kale and wild rice salad? – to salsa and guacamole.
  • Corn – last of the sweet Washington grown summer corn, this will support a topping of grilled shrimp as a light and fresh corn and leek chowder.
  • Green bell peppers – into the kale salad, chopped into other salads and mixed in to my breakfast eggs.
  • Leeks – yes! The first leeks have arrived and they will add a lovely flavor to the corn chowder, accenting the shrimp nicely, yum.
  • Pluots – I think I’ll sub these out for some cremini mushrooms, leeks and creminis go hand-in-hand, maybe in a simple leek, shallot, and olive oil pasta with shaved Parmegiano-Reggiano and seared scallops.
  • Peaches – consider them gone, maybe ice cream, most likely just eaten for snacks.
  • Plums – subbed for Bartlett pears.  Got to have them for the chiogga beets.

So, there is my box list, with ideas for each ingredient. As for my Green Grocery order: I’ll need some shrimp and scallops (I can’t believe we are getting seafood now too! I haven’t tried it yet, so can’t wait), along with some tagliolini and parmegiano. I’ll also order some bread, maybe try the new multi grain sliced loaf from Essential Baking Company, and then some Grace Harbor yogurt – because I can’t resist. Let me know if you have an idea for an ingredient that you just don’t know what to do with, or even a suggestion for a great recipe. I’d love to hear from you.

Next week – Leek and Cremini Mushroom Tagliolini with Seared Scallops!

