I’ve got one word for you this Friday, okay two words – celery root. I urge everyone to sub-out at least one thing and sub-in some celeriac. Celery root is a variety of celery that is grown for its tender underground root. I had never had any of this amazing vegetable until I started getting my Full Circle box and now I look forward to it every year.

The funny thing is – I hate celery. It is one of the few things in my mind that doesn’t improve with organic and farm fresh origins. Celery from our farm is even  more celery-y, potent and chewy. It tastes more I suppose like celery should, which is awful. But celery root, now that’s something completely different.

It’s rough and knobby exterior gives way to a light, smooth and creamy interior that when roasted becomes a rich and tasty light celery flavor with notes of pepper and pear. It is amazing. That being said, its season is short so get it while it’s available. I’m definitely subbing it in and adding some more to my green grocery. As for my list:

Garnet Yams     Romaine Lettuce
Acorn Squash    Escarole
Lacinato Kale     Dapple Dandy Pluots
Spinach             Red Flame Grapes
Romanesco       D’anjou Pears
Scallions           Gala Apples

It’s looking pretty good, and there is one other item I am excited about – Romanesco. For those of you that aren’t familiar with this delicacy, it’s like a fractal-ized version of cauliflower with a slightly softer flavor. Perfect for a Lebanese garlic sauce, which is what I’m going to do with mine. The yams will go for a nice roast veggie platter, the escarole will end up in white bean soup.  The spinach I may sub-out for something else, as I still have last weeks, but when it get’s cooked down one bunch is only enough for really one person. So I’ll leave it in there and make a quiche with spinach, scallion and mushrooms. The fruit will go for crisps and the grapes I’ll sub out for the celery root since they come from California.

I think that will about do it, though I’ll add some bread, yogurt, and Linda gave me a great idea for the fresh lasagna noodles – ravioli! Now that’s what the spinach should go for, that and the kale with some roasted squash and pine nuts. Oh, that sounds great! I love it when meals just come together like that. I better add some garlic and maybe some more leeks if they’re available. I still have some beef in the freezer and some leftover squash soup, but that won’t make it through the weekend.

So, meals next week – White Bean and Escarole Soup, Spinach and Acorn Squash Ravioli, Roast Yams and Braised Kale, and maybe a crisp, or a tart. I do have a new tart pan I want to try out. Its good to be flexible. I hope everyone has a great weekend. Next week – squash ravioli or Lebanese garlic romanesco.

