I’m sure you can tell by the title of this post that my mandarin marmalade was not a success. Well, let’s not jump to conclusions. It just happens that the ten year flood hit Seattle and I spent Sunday vacuuming water out of my basement and digging a French drainage ditch next to my house while our holiday party guests sat inside and ate all my mandarins.

Not that I blame them, they were delicious. Once I was able to join the party I had a few myself. So it goes, the best laid plans. So instead I present to you my other fun gift. A simple, quick and delicious chutney that you can serve with everything from roast to your Christmas goose. Chutneys are a great way to give a homemade gift that can be enjoyed by all. They have about a three week shelf life when refrigerated and much longer if canned.

Chutneys are easy to experiment with and can be as simple or as exotic as you like. Try experimenting from this recipe, by adding apple, lemon zest, or spices that spice up or match your dish.

To make a chutney with more the consistency of jam you’ll want to use unripe fruit. It will take anywhere from 35-60 minutes to break the pectin down and create a jam-like consistency. For something that is more of a sauce, blend half the mixture when the liquids are mostly reduced and mix into the remaining mixture. This will make more of a saucy consistency perfect for meats.

3 Pears ( I like Bosc, but any firm pear will work) chopped
4 Fuyu persimmons chopped
1/2 Onion diced
1 cup Cashews (Optional), finely chopped
2 T Minced fresh ginger
1 cup Apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup Red wine vinegar
1/4 cup Brown Sugar
1/2 t Pepper
1/2 t  Salt

How to prepare:

Combine pears, persimmons, onion, walnuts, ginger, vinegar, brown sugar, black pepper and salt in a large saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring occasionally. It’s really that easy! Simmer for 35-45 minutes until mixture has a chunky, jam like consistency. Let cool and spoon into a jar when still warm. Place lid on tightly and refrigerate. (Can be refrigerated up to 3 weeks). This is a great addition to many meals especially pork and lamb.

